Author Topic: Plug into house dryer plug for 30 amp shore power  (Read 3833 times)

Joel Ashley

• BAC Member
  • OSU Class of '73, Oregon Native. RVing 39 years
Re: Plug into house dryer plug for 30 amp shore power
« Reply #15 on: September 04, 2020, 09:08:33 AM »
“ Is there any reason to believe my dryer connection (except for pin configuration) is any different than an RV park 30A plug-in.“
Chris, obviously the power box in a park will have a dedicated ground.  Your 3-prong dryer setup does not. Since the pigtail includes a way to connect its 50amp female end’s ground directly to your house ground, I would expect that to protect you, assuming everything in the house distribution box connects to a common ground buss.  But I’m no electrician.  I’m not sure why you were left unclear on this after putting it to your electrician friend.  Run it by him again?

Joel
Joel and Lee Rae Ashley
Clackamas, Oregon
36.9 ft. 2006 Monterey Ventura IV, aka"Monty Rae"
C9 400HP Cat

Fred Brooks

• BAC Member
  • RVIA Certified Luxury Technician 49 years, Retired
« Reply #16 on: September 04, 2020, 03:50:26 PM »
     We all have a "friend" who knows something about electricity. Well intention friends are always willing to help us out and make suggestions to meet our needs. This is why have NEC (National electrical code) It is the standard by which all electrical stuff is established. Coaches above all need an established ground because they are sitting on rubber.