Author Topic: Water in Racor tube  (Read 2265 times)

Courtney Adams

Water in Racor tube
« on: November 12, 2020, 02:20:58 AM »
Hello all,
I am very new to the RV life. I have a 1999 Beaver Patriot Thunder 425 with the C12 engineI’m have an issue where the engine cut out and I have been unable to get it restarted.  I have a friend that works for CAT and connected it to the computer and it didn’t throw any codes. When we were looking at the back of the coach he took note of the racor system and he assessed it as likely having water in the system.  We looked at the Racor system and we were able to purge for air, but not for water? I’ve ordered the filters and am wondering how I remove the water from the Racor tube?
Here are some pictures that show what I’m looking at:

The air purge works fine, but the water purge does nothing? I’m not sure where the yellow tube is suppose to plug in to?

Any help or guidance that can be provided will be a huge help.

Frank Bergamo

• BAC Member
Re: Water in Racor tube
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2020, 02:39:46 AM »
The water purge will not activate if no water is detected. I would be more interested in the o-rings on the end of the clear tube leaking, allowing air into system. There are 2 o-rings, one in each end of the housing, and 2 o-rings on each end of the clear tube, for a total of 4 o-rings. Do a search of Racor fuel filter, and you will get the info you are looking for. As far as the yellow tube, I believe that is the purge tube. It should go thru the bottom of the compartment, dumping on the ground. Hope this helps.

Looking at your fuel filter, it does not have the metal purge device that the purge line hooks up to, located on the bottom of the filter. The water sensor is in the metal bottom also. Someone removed the original filter and installed a no drain filter. Here is what it should look like. http://beaveramb.org/forum/index.php/topic,9276.msg63440.html#msg63440