Author Topic: Price for brake converter for air over hydraulic - 1996 Beaver Patriot  (Read 3273 times)

Jeffrey Antonelli

• BAC Member
Hello everyone,

I am new to Beavers and recently purchased a 1996 Patriot Yorktown. I have it at a diesel shop for some of the expected deferred maintenance my RV inspector found as a pre purchase inspection.

However, they also found that there was leaking brake fluid at the front driver wheel. Mechanic says a diaphragm is toast. He called it a "master cylinder" at the wheel - confusing to me as a car guy but what do I know. He was having trouble finding the replacement part so I called a well known place and they say it is a "brake converter" and the price is $1,500 for the part. Yeowsie! Is that reasonable for what it is? I tried online research but I cannot find anything called a "brake converter"...

Also, price from the same place for suspension air bags is $295 each. I was expecting around $75 each from my research.

Your candid advice will be greatly appreciated by me, and thank you in advance for your help!

Jeff Antonelli
1996 Patriot Yorktown

Carl Boger

• BAC Member
Re: Price for brake converter for air over hydraulic - 1996 Beaver Patriot
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2021, 11:46:30 PM »
I can not advise on the brake converter as I have not run into that yet, and I am not sure what the part is.  As for the airbags, I paid about $150.00 for mine which I believe would be the same as yours, so the place you are checking parts at does seem a little high.
Carl

98 Beaver Patriot Savannah
330 hp Cat 3126
The following users thanked this post: Jeffrey Antonelli

Steve Huber Co-Admin

• Administrator Group
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2021, 11:58:05 PM »
Jeff.