Author Topic: Welding help  (Read 13749 times)

Adam Hicklin

Welding help
« on: March 16, 2013, 07:06:13 AM »
Hi all.  I'm new to the BAC but have followed the forum since buying a new to me 1998 Marquis in December.  I need some guidance.  I need to do some welding on the rear hydraulic jack mounts.  I know I should disconnect the batteries, the engine ECM and the transmission ECM.  I think I have located both ECM's (engine- passenger side of engine.  Trans- electrical bay mounted to top of bay by the light)  Is there any procedure to follow to unplug them and replug them when I'm done?  Anything else I should know but not smart enough to ask?  Any input would be appreciated.  

1998 Marquis Diamanté
C12
Alison 4060

Adam H.

William Brosam

Re: Welding help
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2013, 02:26:21 PM »
Adam what are you welding on the jack mount? the bottom jack pad?

you should isolate the hydralic motor the current if you can get to it so you dont fry the motor/control board through the hydralic system. this is probably overkill trying to be safe.

Adam Hicklin

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2013, 08:35:06 PM »
The rear jack is "boxed" in 1/4 inch steel plate.  The back  plate attaches to an extension that comes off the frame rail.  This back mounting plate has a bend in it so when the jack extends, it catches the body panel.  The plan is to attempt to bend it back, the beef it up with some gussets.  It seems next to impossible to actually cut it out and put on a new backing plate.  Also going to beef up the ther side while we're at it.  They seem a little under-supported.  

I plan on disconnecting as much as I can electrically.  You're right, you can't be over cautious. This Beaver is a great coach, but I'm finding out that when things go wrong, it usually is in a spectacularly expensive fashion!

Thanks for your input.  Any others?

William Brosam

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2013, 09:18:05 PM »