Author Topic: Low voltage fuse box melt down  (Read 16890 times)

Jim Shunkwiler

Re: Low voltage fuse box melt down
« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2013, 09:02:20 PM »
Joel do you think water in the battery compartment could've caused my problem?

Joel Ashley

• BAC Member
  • OSU Class of '73, Oregon Native. RVing 39 years
« Reply #16 on: August 21, 2013, 09:07:56 PM »
I wouldn't think water in your battery compartment to have caused this specific issue.  Is the green lamp still on at the bottom left of the Multiplex Control Master?  Or is it red for "Fault".

I'm no electrician but I'd consider pinching the sides of the 2 white connectors on the Multiplex Control Master and removing them.  I would expect this to turn off your switch backlights that are stuck on, and may protect anything in the Multiplex system yet in jeopardy.  Taking the cover off the black inset House Fuse Box and pulling the fuse to the Multiplex Control Master is also an option;  I think that is fuse number 9, Multiplex CPU.

Of course if you haven't already lost some or all of your 12 volt lighting from either or both A and B dimmer modules, this will disable them.  The fans may still be operative via their on-board switches, I'm not sure, but unfortunately the water pump likely won't come on if Module B is out of commission.

As Ed suggested, a call to BCS in Bend may glean experienced input regarding Multiplex and maybe insight into the overheated J2 connector with no blown fuses.

Be sure to print copies of the diagrams for your service tech.  When the cause is determined next week, please advise us.

Joel
« Last Edit: August 21, 2013, 09:23:26 PM by 77 »
Joel and Lee Rae Ashley
Clackamas, Oregon
36.9 ft. 2006 Monterey Ventura IV, aka"Monty Rae"
C9 400HP Cat

Jim Shunkwiler

« Reply #17 on: August 21, 2013, 09:20:45 PM »