Author Topic: Hydraulic line replacement  (Read 9513 times)

Adam Hicklin

Hydraulic line replacement
« on: August 22, 2013, 06:57:18 AM »
I need to replace one of the hydraulic lines on the slide out.  I plan on having one made to the correct length then install it myself.  I have zero experience with hydraulics.  This is an HWH controlled slide unit.  Uses the same hydraulic pump as the levelers.  Here are the questions:

1.  Will the line be under pressure?  There are two lines, so am I correct in assuming that one of them is always under pressure?  Either extending or retracting?
2. Once I get the line replaced, what is the process for bleeding the trapped air?
3.  What other info do I need to know, but not smart enough to ask?

I had one of the lines, which had a hole, replaced when I bought the coach.  Why I didn't think to have them both replaced is a mystery.  Not thinking I guess.  Now the second line has a couple occasional drips and some worrisome bulges.  

As always, thanks in advance.  

Joel Weiss

Re: Hydraulic line replacement
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2013, 05:30:33 PM »
I can't help you with the install since I didn't do it myself, but the key advice I can offer is that the lines need to be rated for >5000 psi.  The mistake made at the Beaver factory was that for some period of time they were using lines rated at ~2,500 psi or so I've been told.  One side of the line is always at pressure either with the slide fully out or in so they have to be able to withstand the pressure on a continuous basis.  Or so I've been told.

Gerald Farris

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2013, 07:47:45 PM »
Adam,
Joel is right, at least one hose is under pressure at all times in order to hold the slide in the desired location of fully extended or retracted.