Author Topic: REAR SLIDE LEAKING  (Read 5463 times)

brunitoons2

REAR SLIDE LEAKING
« on: January 25, 2010, 05:07:22 PM »
I HAVE AN 04 PATRIOT THUNDER, REAR SLIDE IS LEAKING INTO THE THE OVERHEAD CABINET, (CEILING AREA). I HAD AN RV REPAIR SERVICE RESEALED THE LEADING EDGE OF THE SLIDE. THOUGHT THAT MIGHT DO IT. ANOTHER SMALL RAIN THIS PAST FRIDAY AND THE FORWARD INSIDE PORTION OF THE CABINET WAS WET AGAIN (CEILING AREA). DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY IDEAS OR HEARD OF THIS BEFORE? THE RV REPAIR SAID HE MIGHT WANT TO DO A PRESSURE TEST TO SEE IF CAN LOCATE ANY LEAKS. HELP PLEASE!
GARY BRUNING 772.485.8750. THANK YOU.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2010, 07:00:29 AM by 14 »

Bill Sprague

Re: REAR SLIDE LEAKING
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2010, 05:55:34 PM »
Have had the same problem twice on my 04 Monterey and solved it both times.

I've heard the pressue test with bubble bath works pretty good, but I have no direct experience.

First solution:  Unroll the slide topper.  Use wood blocks with clamps or pins or some method to keep it from rolling up.  The danger here is that if something slips when your hand is in the way you can loose your hand.  After you're sure the awning/topper won't roll up, remove it an lay it on the roof.  Now you should have access to the seams that go full length along the inner and out edge.  Clean them and re-caulk.  Not sure what is best, but I use acetone to clean and silicone to caulk.  You should be able to reach the inside seam by lifting the wipe seal up a couple inches at a time.  

If you can't get to the inside seam, I've seen it reached from the inside the coach.  Bring the slide in about a foot, reach over the top.  You need a helper if you do it this way.  You have to put tubing over the caulk tube as an extension.  The helper squeezes the lever on the caulk gun.  Don't get caulk on your wife's pillow.  If you do, switch it to your side of the bed.