Author Topic: chassis batteries  (Read 5780 times)

rex unicume

chassis batteries
« on: April 23, 2014, 10:24:46 PM »
Is there any special way to charge these batteries with a portable charger?
Which terminals do you attach the charger terminals to?
It has been sitting quite a few months and the chassis batteries are dead.

Are there any ideas about keeping the chassis batteries charged other than running the unit?

Joel Ashley

• BAC Member
  • OSU Class of '73, Oregon Native. RVing 39 years
Re: chassis batteries
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2014, 10:42:58 PM »
First of all, it would help to know which model and year of coach you have.  Several different built-in charging options are possible depending on that information.  I'm no expert on them all, but others here will be more able to help if you supply more info.

Generally you need to turn off both chassis and house master switches upon storage of the rig, but on most units there will still be some parasitic drain.  If the coach is outside exposed to sun and has a solar system, that can help keep the batteries up during storage.  Otherwise, it may be best to disconnect the batteries altogether.

If the coach is plugged into electricity during storage, an onboard charger that works properly should keep things up.  They can be part of the inverter or some rigs use what's called Echo Chargers.  But sometimes those chargers fail.  As mentioned, a lot depends on which coach we are talking about.