Author Topic: Cruise control will not turn on  (Read 21484 times)

Jerry Emert

• BAC Member
Re: Cruise control will not turn on
« Reply #30 on: August 19, 2014, 03:31:30 PM »
Quote from: Jerry Emert
My navy experience is coming back to me after buying our new Beaver.  I was an Electronic Warfare Technician.  I've been trouble shooting electrical problems, with Gerald's help.  
The cruise control was not working so I put some good old Navy know how to work.  One of the things a navy tech learns early is that the vibrations of a ship at sea causes all kinds of things to vibrate loose even if held solidly in place.  I started banging"really tapping"on relays with my little hammer I use to work on guns.  Now my cruise control works fine in the high idle mode.  Still won't trust the cruise on the road but now at least I know that it was a sticking relay.  Now to figure out which one.
So Dan and Gary here's my update.  We'll see how long my Navy repair lasts.

It's time to add to this.  I outsmarted myself which seems pretty easy to do but no damage.  The cruise control was driving me nuts because sometimes it worked sometimes it didn't.  I tapped on the relay and it worked for awhile then quit while I was driving.  I would tap and it would work, soooo I thought bad relay or connection.  Wrong!  Don't ask me how but I discovered that it works all the time as long as the engine brake is on, yes I said on!  It is not supposed to work when the brake is on.  So cruise problem better or maybe worse?  At least it works now and my big toe feels better not having to control the speed constantly.  Brake pedal switch still doesn't work but brake lights are fine.  I've obviously got a wiring issue but at least it works and I turn it off whenever there are cars in my vicinity.  I'm happy, sort of, now.  If you have ideas I am open to all.  Thanks

Jerry, Chief USN Retired
2003 Patriot Thunder Lexington 40' 3 Slides
C-12 Ser#  2KS89983
4000MH

Steve Huber Co-Admin