Author Topic: Running at higher elevations.  (Read 8076 times)

Jeremy Parrett

Running at higher elevations.
« on: September 27, 2015, 04:24:08 PM »
Climbing past Denver.CO to Colorado Springs the transmission temp rose from 175F to 190F and the engine coolant temp rose from 185F  to  200F or higher sometimes. Running the C12 at 2000 rpm or close to it to keep the radiator fan at full potential.
  We are headed through the Vail Pass etc to Moab next week.
 I am using a 7 lbs cap on the header tank.  I am going to replace it with the standard 18 lb cap.
 Is there anything else I can do to lower or better manage these  temperatures ??
« Last Edit: September 27, 2015, 04:32:23 PM by Jeremy Parrett »

Jerry Carr

• BAC Member
  • 06 Pat. Thunder Cat. C13
Re: Running at higher elevations.
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2015, 04:48:46 PM »

Jeremy, I am no expert but have been told that it's better to run the CAT engine on the warm side, the Danforth valve on our C-13 is a 190 and is the same as the original one installed when the rig was new. We are running warmer with the new cooling fan/Fan motor and hdy.pump. The rig runs at 194-204 and I have seen spikes as high as 208/210 for very short periods. The folks at Massey and Dave Atherton have both told me that "hot" is in the range of 230+ and that the temps we see are normal.
If you run to cold below 180 this is not good for the CAT.
I would run your numbers past Dave he is a master CAT Mech. and should be able to help

Regards,
Jerry Carr
Past Region 1 V.P.
Entegra Anthem
06 Pat. Thunder Cat C13

Lee Welbanks

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2015, 09:05:09 PM »
Jeremy,

There is nothing wrong with the temps you are running, don't mess with it. What psi cap did they spec for the cooling system, use what was spec'd when new.

Jeremy Parrett

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2015, 01:25:08 AM »
Thank you Lee and jerry,