Author Topic: Onan Generator 7500 Won't Turn Over  (Read 4886 times)

Troy Price

Onan Generator 7500 Won't Turn Over
« on: October 30, 2017, 09:47:23 PM »
I am new to the BAC Forum so if I am posting this in the wrong place, just give me a heads up, so I do not keep do this.
This is the problem I am working on, and it is driving me crazy should be an easy fix. I have a 2004 Beaver Monterey, and this is my second year with the coach. I just got it winterize for this winter, and I thought I would double check everything before I put it in the shop for the winter. I found that the generator was just a little low on oil, so I topped it off. After doing that I check the oil level and all looks good. I thought I would start the Gen and have it run for a little and then recheck. I went to use the starter switch on the Gen and found the light on switch did not light up, or when I tried to start the Gen, it did nothing like I had no battery. I checked the battery, and all is good lots of power. I also checked the power leads to the battery in the back of the Gen and had power. I also looked at the switch on the dash to start the Gen, and the little white light that comes on when trying to start the Gen did not light up. I also check fuses in the Gen all is good. Does the Gen have some safety switch to stop it from running if to much oil is in it? But again the oil leave looks good, so I’m just grasping for some ideas on why it just stopped working.
Any thoughts on this?

Steve Huber Co-Admin

• Administrator Group
Re: Onan Generator 7500 Won't Turn Over
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2017, 10:37:07 PM »
Troy,
Welcome to the Forum.
Try starting it with the battery boost switch pressed.
Steve
Steve
Coachless
2015- 6/24  07 Contessa Bayshore C9,  400 hp
2013-2015: 00 Marquis Tourmaline, C12, 425 hp
2005-2013: 01 Contessa Naples, 3126B, 330 hp

Troy Price

« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2017, 10:47:40 PM »
Steve,
Thanks for your thought on this, the power boost made no change.