Author Topic: Cannot locate switch to use engine for heat  (Read 5974 times)

Ron Morgan

Cannot locate switch to use engine for heat
« on: January 04, 2011, 02:58:21 AM »
According to the user manual, there should be a switch just to the left of the kitchen sink to divert the engine coolant through the coach heating system when traveling. Our 98 Beaver Patriot does not have a switch in the described place and I have been unable to find the switch in any other location.  Has anyone else had this problem.  My objective is to have heat in the coach when we are going down the road.

Thanks,

Ron Morgan

Joel Ashley

• BAC Member
  • OSU Class of '73, Oregon Native. RVing 39 years
Re: Cannot locate switch to use engine for heat
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2011, 03:46:56 AM »
You probably already do have engine heat to your hydronic system, Ron, though I'm not familiar with your model year.  As such, I'm no expert, but I don't know of any such switch;  the engine heat is automatically exchanged as needed to the hydronic system (Hurricane or Aqua/HydroHot furnace & hot water).

Many confuse that idea with the option to flip a switch sometime before starting the engine to depart camp in cold weather, thus pre-heating the engine by circulating hydronic heat to it.  A preheated engine has to work less to start.  In that case, there is indeed such a switch, usually located with or near the other hydronic system on/off switches.  It should be labeled "Engine Preheat" or something similar.

I'm sure others here with 1998 Patriots will help zero you in on the Preheat switch location, but I don't think you have (or need) one to have the engine help heat the coach.

-Joel
Joel and Lee Rae Ashley
Clackamas, Oregon
36.9 ft. 2006 Monterey Ventura IV, aka"Monty Rae"
C9 400HP Cat

Gerald Farris

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2011, 06:22:18 AM »