Author Topic: Brake System  (Read 3306 times)

Fred Cook

• BAC Member
Brake System
« on: January 28, 2018, 01:13:40 PM »
Still trying to learn my coach. I did not have a braking system other than service brakes on my previous 1990 Barth DP so I have no experience with Jake or PacBrake. My switch says Jake Brake on it but I understand that Jake makes an exhaust brake too. So which one do I have on my C12... a compression or an exhaust Brake? Thanks
Fred & Cindy
2002 Beaver Patriot Thunder 455, C12 CAT
Towing 2019 Chevy Equinox, AWD Diesel
South Central Missouri, US Army Retired

Gerald Farris

Re: Brake System
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2018, 01:45:06 PM »
Fred,
Your C12 has a 2 stage compression brake. 

Gerald
The following users thanked this post: Fred Cook

David T. Richelderfer

• David, Leslie, Jasper, & JoJo
  • BAC Member
  • OSU, Class of 1971, RVing nearly 50 years
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2018, 02:32:02 PM »
You will soon learn how and when to use your Jake Brake, and you will love it.  I almost always have my Jake set on the higher braking setting.  The Jake really shines when slowing down entering a limited speed zone or holding a speed on a downsloped highway without using or only intermittently using the footbrake.