Author Topic: 1989 Beaver Marquis/control panel/batteries??  (Read 5151 times)

Gary Schenck

1989 Beaver Marquis/control panel/batteries??
« on: April 24, 2011, 03:21:17 AM »
I'm an excited 1989 Beaver coach owner.  I feel like a mule looking at a new gate when I'm looking at control panel with regard to batteries, voltage, etc.  What is the best three or four things I should try to focus on to keep my batteries in good shape?  Should I purchase a hydromoter to check batteries?

Joel Ashley

• BAC Member
  • OSU Class of '73, Oregon Native. RVing 39 years
Re: 1989 Beaver Marquis/control panel/batteries??
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2011, 05:55:02 AM »
You came to the right place, Gary.  Welcome to the club, literally!

There are plenty of people here who will gladly clue you in, and if you can make it to one of the many rallies, you will get lots of hands-on help understanding your new-to-you coach.  That said, expect many replies here.

For my part, I suggest:
Understand the difference between chassis and coach (house) batteries, and how your coach ones are wired together;  
Keep the battery top and posts/connections clean and corrosion-free;
Keep any batteries that require water topped up to 3/8" from the bottom of the cell ports with distilled water;
Don't allow the voltage to drop much below 12 (frequently check your panel when dry-camped);
Don't drive off from a dry-camp of any length expecting your alternator to recharge everything - you will shorten the life of your alternator,
     and related to that, keep your generator well-maintained and ready to recharge your battery banks while dry-camped;
If you can afford it, get a 100 watt solar system installed - it can go a long way toward maintaining your system, but isn't absolutely necessary;