Author Topic: Suspension Air Bag Leak  (Read 4252 times)

Don White

• BAC Member
Suspension Air Bag Leak
« on: October 26, 2019, 08:58:10 PM »
Hi there,

I noticed today that one of the air bags on the rear axel suspension has developed a leak. I have no experience with these and have a couple questions.  First I assume they are replaced rather than repaired.  Is that correct?  Also wondering what the cost for type of repair is and what I should look for regarding a place to get the work done would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Don White
2006 Marquis Jade IV C13
2019 Jeep Wrangler
Hydralift
2006 HD Fat Boy
1997 Safari Serengetti

Gary Donges

• BAC Member
Re: Suspension Air Bag Leak
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2019, 04:35:17 AM »
Don,
To my knowledge replacement is the only option for a leaky air bag. My experience is it can be an exhaustive and expensive process, the wife really put up a struggle!

I had a leaker replaced about a year ago and my recollection is the cost was around $300 which may have included labor. I had the work done in Oregon by beaver coach sales but I believe you can get it taken care of at a heavy truck shop or an RV repair shop that is equipped to handle class A’s.
Gary Donges
Beaver Patriot Thunder Lexington IV 2006 40ft. (2017-    )
C13 Cat
Lake Almanor, CA

Keith Moffett

• BAC Member
  • Every day is a blessing!
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2019, 07:28:51 AM »
My understanding is airbags have a life span and around 10 years is it.  All 10 of ours have degrading rubber outer skin about 1/3 of the way up from the bottom.  There is some thread on the forum about doing the work.  I hope to do a couple at a time.
2007 Patriot Thunder
45' C-13
2006 Explorer Ltd.
DW is Carol
Safe travels and
May God bless!

Mike Shumack

« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2019, 03:42:38 PM »