Author Topic: Engine and gauges quit momentarily while driving  (Read 2842 times)

Bruce Hoglander

Engine and gauges quit momentarily while driving
« on: December 02, 2020, 04:41:10 AM »
Last month I bought a 2005 Monterey 38ft with cat 400 engine with only 8K miles from  owner  that bought it new. I drove it home the 900 miles with no issues. On trip today the engine would lose all power and the Tach, speedometer, voltage gauges would all drop to zero for one to three seconds and then all would come back to normal. The ATC light would come on and stay on for a few minutes. This happened several times and without any input or change from me that I can trace it to. Seems to be electrical so after third time I stopped and checked connections on Chassis Batteries etc. I have been motorhoming and maintaining my own for 30+ years but this is my first diesel so any help pointing me in the right direction would be very much appreciated. Wondering if anyone else has encountered something similar to this. I plan to clean all terminals and carefully check batteries and connections tomorrow.

Bruce Hoglander
2005 Monterey 38
Cat 400

Steve Huber Co-Admin

• Administrator Group
Re: Engine and gauges quit momentarily while driving
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2020, 04:58:18 AM »
Bruce,
It could be the ignition solenoid in the front electrical bay (under dvr) momentarily failing.
Steve
Steve
2015-          07 Contessa Bayshore C9,  400 hp
2013-2015: 00 Marquis Tourmaline, C12, 425 hp
2005-2013: 01 Contessa Naples, 3126B, 330 hp

Fred Brooks

• BAC Member
  • RVIA Certified Luxury Technician 49 years, Retired
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2020, 01:13:45 PM »
    Bruce,
The weakest link in the ignition system is the ignition solenoid in the compartment under the drivers window. Steve is correct and most of us carry a spare. We recommend a genuine Cole-Hersey 85 amp continuous duty solenoid. Hope this helps, Fred
Fred & Cindy Brooks
2000 Marquis, Jasper
C-12 Wild Cat (U of A)