Author Topic: 2001 Marquis Amethyst trans locks in first gear  (Read 2087 times)

Mike Sulley

• BAC Member
2001 Marquis Amethyst trans locks in first gear
« on: June 16, 2022, 07:33:46 AM »
Hi all,  newbie here.  We are stilllp
P learning about our new coach.  We recently purchased a 2001 Marquis Amethyst with a 505 hp Cat C12 and a HD 4000 RV transmission.  It recently started sifting into 1st gear when drive is selected, and refusing to up shift to 2nd.  Once in first, it won’t return to neutral or reverse.  We have to shift to neutral( it doesn’ t shift) and shut down the engine off.  On restarting it will return to neutral and can be shifted to reverse( which works).  Upon shifting to drive, it locks up all over again.

Our Mechanic has down loaded the transmission error codes, and saw a “transmission speed sensor” code, and
possibly an ABS code.  Does my coach even have ABS ?  He saw no other codes.

We have ordered a new speed sensor for the transmission.  Has anyone else experienced this?  Does it sound legitimate?

Would appreciate any helpful insight anyone can offer.

Thanks so much.

Mike Sulley
2001 Marquis Amethyst
43’-10”
Cat C12 505 hp.

Eric Maclean

• BAC Member
  • Karen and I would like to wish you all happy trail
Re: 2001 Marquis Amethyst trans locks in first gear
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2022, 12:23:58 PM »
Mike
The Allison 300/400 troubleshooting manual is loaded on the coach assist library .
It will show you how to get the fault codes by using the shift pad.
From there you can move to that particular fault code and troubleshoot the problem .
I can understand no up shift without the speed sensor but I don't understand it locking up.

First start by retrieving all the fault codes and go from there.

Eric
1997 Patriot Yorktown
3126-B
2009 Chevy HHR
Roadmaster falcon tow bar
Demco Air Force one tow brake.

Steve Huber Co-Admin

• Administrator Group
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2022, 01:42:53 PM »
Mike,