Author Topic: Generator not powering Coach  (Read 883 times)

Jeremy Badeaux

• BAC Member
Generator not powering Coach
« on: December 22, 2023, 11:52:46 PM »
96 Beaver Patriot 37’ Trenton on Magnum Chassis. My generator is not supplying power to my coach while running. When I connect shore power I have power to coach. When I disconnect and run generator I have nothing. I have checked the breakers on the generator and in the coach. All seem to not be tripped. I am new to this but shouldn’t it automatically send power from generator once it is running? Could it be a bad transfer switch?

Bill Lampkin

• BAC Member
Re: Generator not powering Coach
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2023, 12:15:32 AM »
On our coach, the default for the transfer switch is generator; that means the generator supplies all loads and the transfer switch is off (for simplicity}. Shore power turns on the transfer switch, that's why there is a short delay when you plug into shore power. try resetting your generator breaker (off, then on)
2005 Patriot Thunder Lexington, 3 slides
40' tag axle (short wheelbase)
525 hp C13

"Goin where the weather suits my clothes..."

Fred Brooks

• BAC Member
  • RVIA Certified Luxury Technician 49 years, Retired
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2023, 02:44:41 PM »
   Jeremy,