Author Topic: Backing into site - Tips?  (Read 19975 times)

JimCasazze

Backing into site - Tips?
« on: November 08, 2011, 05:26:49 PM »
For some reason, I am having a bit of difficulty learning to back our '99 PT into many of the SW Florida CG lots.  The steets seem way too narrow to allow me to manuever our rig easily into place and I'm hoping someone might have some tips on setup of the turn, etc.  Most CG's here do not have pull thru's and tend to be a large mix of Mobile homes and RV's.

I'm a licensed pilot, licensed maritime captain and can back a trailer into just about any space imaginable, but this Beaver is getting the best of me.  I've tried to understand the turning point at the rear axle as well as the swing of the front end which has helped a bit, but I think there must be a trick to this as there are handleing other vehicles, etc.

I seem to be able to get out of the lots reasonably well so I have to think I could get in with the same amount of planning.  Usually, I can just barely (with a lookout) slip out without hitting any driveway marker posts (I hate those things).

So if anyone has a few tips on how to set up for the backup - please share.

Thanks
Jim

Keith Cooper

LEAH DRAPER

Re: Backing into site - Tips?
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2011, 07:02:46 PM »
If possible, always back in from the left side (so you can see where your wheels are, from your rear view mirror.  If necessary adjust your mirror downward so you can see your rear wheel.   Get as close to left side of the road as possible (this gives you more room for front end swing).  Always good to visualize after getting coach to left side of street, to get out of coach and visualize where your rear wheels must be to begin your turn, and then begin the hard turn of the wheel and follow it in.   It may be necessary sometimes to ("jockie it around) by pulling forward and continuing the process again.