Author Topic: Dinghy Brake System  (Read 38231 times)

John 'Bo' Achord

Dinghy Brake System
« on: April 11, 2012, 06:31:15 PM »
I am looking for some guidance on purchasing a brake system for my dinghy. I have a 2011 Honda CR-V. I will be pulling it with a 2008 42' Beaver Contessa with a 4ooHP.
I have been reading about so many different ones on the internet. So I am hoping that I can receive some feedback
from some experince travelers.  Thanks

Mandy Canales

• BAC Member
Re: Dinghy Brake System
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2012, 06:52:29 PM »
BO...You'll probably get a lot of advice on this topic as there are so many different "toad" braking systems out there.  I have been towing a Honda Civic for 11 years with an M & G system and it works very well for us.  I went with this one as I did not want to drill any holes in the floor of the tow car which several of the systems require.  I'm sure there are a few new systems out there that don't require drilling but those I'm not familiar with.  I just know that I'm happy with the M & G system.  I believe all the systems out there depends personal choice.  Good luck on your selection.
Mandy
« Last Edit: April 12, 2012, 05:53:48 AM by 14 »
Mandy Canales
90 Beaver Marquis 40'
Cat 3208
Charter Member
Apple Valley, CA

Gil_Johnson

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2012, 07:18:49 PM »
I've used SMI's Air Force One on 2 vehicles now and really like it.  As for drilling a hole.  The 1/4" air hose is ran into the passenger compartment along with the wires to activate the TOAD's lights, so no big deal.  What you'll discover is that the M&G wil not fit on many new cars.  Which ever you decide on, these two are the leading, if not the only ones, that operate proportionally off the coach's air brake system.

Just my opinion.

Gil

Joel Weiss

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2012, 09:53:34 PM »