Author Topic: Tire Temperature  (Read 20159 times)

Richard Cooper

Re: Tire Temperature
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2013, 04:59:30 PM »
I'm sorry gentlemen.  I am hard headed at times.  You are right --- shoot the thing at all the tires and see which one(s) vary from the rest.

I'm an accountant and we don't think on the same side of the brain as those who understand mechanical things.   ;D ;D

Bill Sprague

« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2013, 05:07:27 PM »
Quote from: Bill Sprague
Richard,

Next week I'll be driving to Quartzsite.  I will try to remember to point the meter at the tires and give you a number.

Bill

Oops!  I can't find my meter.  I may have loaned it out.  If I did, it was so long ago I don't have a clue who it may have been!

Dick Simonis

« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2013, 11:58:36 PM »
Just program your TPMS for 137 and if the alarm never goes off, you're good.  Personally, I've never paid any attention to the temps on my car tires nor do I on the MH.  If the pressure is up the temps will be good.  Pressure is the key.

Tom and Pam Brown

« Reply #18 on: January 11, 2013, 01:04:15 AM »
Gentlemen, I have spent over 25 years in the trucking industry and sat on numerous miantenence councils on the ATA. I have never been exposed to anyone in the industry that tests tire temperatures. Trucks run a 100,000 miles per year and haul 80,000 pounds. I for one  will not concern myself with tire temperatures outside of touching the tires on occasion.  

Having said that I know others feel otherwise and if you do test away.  But keep in mind to do accurately you will have to know what position the sun is in what surface temp the road has and what lane you drive in.  All,of these factors can effect your temperature readings.

Joel Ashley

• BAC Member
  • OSU Class of '73, Oregon Native. RVing 39 years
« Reply #19 on: January 11, 2013, 05:08:33 AM »