Author Topic: 6 way seats not moving  (Read 6587 times)

Gary Wolfer

6 way seats not moving
« on: December 01, 2013, 05:05:16 AM »
On my 1998 Patriot the drivers and passengers both 6 way seats quit moving in any direction. I did turn the passenger seat all the way around facing the back. I first looked for a GFCI that may have tripped and found one in the back open passenger side cabinet near the inverter had tripped. I reset it and proceeded to adjust the seats and every time I touch the 6 way seat selectors they immediately kick the GFCI again. Anyone have this problem before? Would it be under the coach since it is effecting both seats? I am not good with a multimeter.

Doug Neal

Re: 6 way seats not moving
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2013, 06:30:26 AM »
The seats are 12volt and the GFI is 110 volt. Two different systems. I don't see how it would be possible for a 12 volt system to trip a GFI which is 110. You have 2 separate problems.

Steven Hoffman

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2013, 01:30:31 PM »
Gary

On my 97 the power for the seats comes from the 12 v panel in the left front bay.

The wire harness for the seats can be on the short side.  Rotating the seat can pull the connectors or in my case some splices apart.  

Fred Nikirk

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2013, 05:16:21 PM »
Ours. Comes unplugged in a loom under the seat when rotated to far.
Fred. Nikirk

Doug Neal

« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2013, 07:58:09 PM »
I also had the unplugging problem until I did a little re routing.

Joel Ashley

• BAC Member
  • OSU Class of '73, Oregon Native. RVing 39 years
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2013, 06:08:39 AM »
I don't know that the common swiveling-and-unplugging situation is Gary's problem;  both seats are affected.