Author Topic: Porpoising on rough road  (Read 3831 times)

Gary Wolfer

Porpoising on rough road
« on: February 28, 2014, 07:18:03 AM »
I am new to air suspension and am experiencing a lot of what I call porpoising. The lower needle on my air gage moves back and forth from 100# to 110# and the higher gage moves back and forth from 110# to 120# at the same time. Could I have a leak and if so how do I check it? Is it normal for the air pressure gage to move back and forth like that? and can that cause the porpoising?

Keith Moffett

• BAC Member
  • Every day is a blessing!
Re: Porpoising on rough road
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2014, 12:05:52 PM »
Spray bottle with warm water and a few drops of Dawn dish soap.  Slowly spray all lines.
Took me two years to find our leak.  All the little ones like around the air tanks by the air filter canister and so on were simple.  The tough one was the control valve for the slide floor (step cover).  This was under the hood below the windshields on the passanger side.  There was a small electric selenoid attached t air 'T'.  The inside corner of the 'T' had cracked.  I bought a new one from Larry in parts at BCS.  
Air leaks mean slower recovery time to the suspension when driving and makes porpoising more of a problem.
Keith
2007 Patriot Thunder
45' C-13
2006 Explorer Ltd.
DW is Carol
Safe travels and
May God bless!

Gerald Farris

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2014, 02:31:49 PM »
Gary,
If your air gauges are moving when you are not using air from brake applications or a similar activity, you have a leak that needs to be fixed. However, the problem of porpoising is usually caused by weak or defective shocks, because the response time for the air suspension is to slow to cause or correct the condition. Also, short coaches seem to be more effected by this problem than the 40 to 45 foot models.  

Gerald

Gary Wolfer

« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2014, 04:02:53 AM »