Author Topic: Brakemaster Help  (Read 5385 times)

Dan Murphy

Brakemaster Help
« on: February 28, 2014, 12:42:06 PM »
We have a 2009 Contessa that has the Brakemaster 9000 system installed with a light on the dash of the motorhome.
I assume that the motorhome is equipped with the correct parts! I have no brake set up yet in my toad which is a 2013 Ford Cmax Hybrid.
Lazy Days says it might be as much as $1700 to order what I need and install the parts in my car.This seems very high to me.
Does anybody have the second car kit for Brakemaster that is not being used and I might buy??

Bill Sprague

Re: Brakemaster Help
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2014, 01:18:58 PM »
Dan,

I have a Brakemaster (by Roadmaster).  I don't know if it is "9000".  It was installed by Torque Lift in Kent, WA 5 years ago.  

The motorhome part is simple.  There is a "T" installed in a air brake line with air hose going to a fitting near the motorhome hitch.  Then a simple and single wire is run from near the hitch to the dash light.  Parts might be around $50 and labor about an hour.

The car is more complicated.  Although the actuator is simple and easy to use, there is more work and more parts.  The driver seat needs to have a bracket installed and the seat may need to be modified.  An air line needs to go through the fire wall to the a fitting at the grill.  A wire needs to parallel the air line.  The most expensive and complicated part is the breakaway portion.  It is an automatic device and switch that contains enough pressurized air to apply the car brakes should the car become disconnected from the motorhome while driving.  As I recall, the breakaway device and the labor to install it was nearly half of my bill.  With any luck at all, you will never use the breakaway system!