Author Topic: Buzzing Transfer Switch  (Read 9611 times)

Mike Groves

Buzzing Transfer Switch
« on: June 11, 2015, 09:58:38 PM »
All,

While hooked up to 50amps I notice an annoying buzzing sound in the bathroom area of my 99 Beaver Marquis (same plan as 1998/2000/2001 40ft.  Is that the transfer switch that is causing that?  My assumption was the Prosine Inverter but when I disconnect 50amp, the buzzing goes away and I can turn on the Inverter and no buzzing. 

How loud should that buzzing be?  Anyone?

Thanks,
Mike

Jerry Emert

• BAC Member
Re: Buzzing Transfer Switch
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2015, 10:44:01 PM »
I'm not an RV expert as you all know but in my Navy electronics career, many many years ago, relays often started making that buzzing sound usually due to age.  If you had to you could probably clean up the contacts with fine sand paper if you can get to them.  Or replace the relay/s or the whole box or just live with it if it isn't too bad.  The louder they get the closer they are to failure.
Jerry, Chief USN Retired
2003 Patriot Thunder Lexington 40' 3 Slides
C-12 Ser#  2KS89983
4000MH
The following users thanked this post: Fred Brooks

John Hennessey

• BAC Member
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2015, 12:50:30 AM »
We've had the same thing happen. Sometimes is occurs in one campground and not another. Also check you plug at the post. We've unplugged and re plug in making sure the connection are good and the buzzing has stopped.
John & Linda Hennessey
2023-Thor Omni Class C
2011-2023 - 2003 Marquis

Mike Groves

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2015, 01:10:19 AM »
We've had the same thing happen. Sometimes is occurs in one campground and not another. Also check you plug at the post. We've unplugged and re plug in making sure the connection are good and the buzzing has stopped.

Thanks John,