Author Topic: Motorhome Handling  (Read 10409 times)

Jerry Emert

• BAC Member
Motorhome Handling
« on: August 13, 2014, 11:41:04 AM »
As you know I'm new to Class As, full of questions and easily confused.  I've driven the Patriot about 1000 miles and am pretty comfortable behind the wheel.  I've noticed that while in the right lane the coach seems to want to go off on to the right shoulder every once in a while.  My wonderful wife seems to think it may be my wandering mind, and I have to admit to having a minor case of "squirrel syndrome".  I digress...it doesn't seem to be a problem while in the middle lane and my thought is that it is the way the roads are made with a slant to drain the road causing the coach to get sucked into the right shoulder.  Is this a general problem in these beasts or "SHE" right?  Is there a mechanical issue that I have to pursue or just suck it up or stay in the middle.  Haven't driven in the left lane much so no idea if it does it there or not.  Thanks for your time and patience.  Have a great day.
Jerry
« Last Edit: August 13, 2014, 06:17:58 PM by 5 »
Jerry, Chief USN Retired
2003 Patriot Thunder Lexington 40' 3 Slides
C-12 Ser#  2KS89983
4000MH

Karl Welhart

• BAC Member
Re: Motorhome Handling
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2014, 02:39:24 PM »
Jerry,

Normally, a motorhome is designed to pull a little to the left because of the crown of the road.  My experience is that on most road the pull is a little more often to the left not the right.  This may be just because of the setup for my coach.  The test would be on as newly paved road that is as flat as possible and take you hands off the wheel at a speed of 50-55 mph.  If it pulls to the right or left more than a gentle movement towards that direction, would be a concern enough to have it's alignment checked at Jo-Sam's in Orlando.

Karl
Karl and Nancy Welhart, F36017
2014 Tiffin Allegro Bus 37AP (2014-current)
2002 Patriot (2002-2014)
1997 Monterey (1997-2002)
Niceville, Florida