Author Topic: Heat build-up in engine runbox  (Read 4493 times)

Richard Dangel

Heat build-up in engine runbox
« on: October 10, 2020, 02:34:27 AM »
Hello  All,
I am new to the forum although I have been browsing this site for 6 years.  I seem to be having a heat build-up problem in my engine run box. I have a 2009 Marquis, Lapis IV with a Cat C-15 purchased 2 years ago from Beaver Coach Sales.  I have had to replace the Big Boy and the smaller solenoid twice each along with the run circuit board (EXPENSIVE). I have to keep the cover off the runbox or the heat builds and I go into downrate. Gerald mentioned on another post that the voltage going through the Big Boy drops after it pulls in to reduce heat. How do you check that it is really dropping? I am considering punching a couple of holes in the runbox and installing a small 12 volt fan and a screened vent. Any and all help, thoughts and consideration would be greatly appreciated.

Steve Huber Co-Admin

• Administrator Group
Re: Heat build-up in engine runbox
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2020, 05:03:02 AM »
Richard,
There should be approximately 4 VDC on 1 of the 2 small terminals of the Big Boy solenoid after it has been engaged for a minute or so. Alternately you can check the voltage at the "Solenoid" pin of the BIRD controller since that is the source.
I highly doubt that the Big Boy is the source of your heat issue however. I don't have a C15 so not sure of the layout but if the muffler and exhaust run under the run box they would be my first suspects.  An IR temp probe might help you locate the source of the heat.
Steve
Steve
2015-          07 Contessa Bayshore C9,  400 hp
2013-2015: 00 Marquis Tourmaline, C12, 425 hp
2005-2013: 01 Contessa Naples, 3126B, 330 hp

Richard Dangel

« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2020, 05:30:58 AM »