Author Topic: Steering Box (wheelhouse) leak  (Read 1642 times)

James Blackwell

• BAC Member
Steering Box (wheelhouse) leak
« on: April 16, 2022, 06:13:21 AM »
Hi There, I'm new to the BAC but have had a 1996 34' Monterey for a long time. It is on the Magnum chassis and on a recent trip I developed a leak in the steering box. I patched it enough to get home and it is intermitting on the leak.....Went 1500 miles back home with no leak, then the other day I went 50 milers and it almost emptied the reservoir. It needs some O rings or seal kit. If I ask anyone about it, they say they have never heard of the brand. Does anyone know where I can get a seal or overhaul kit? I know some other people must have had this problem. I talked to a fellow that had his rebuilt in Slidel, LA, and it was as dry as a powder keg. He said he was going to send me the name of the outfit, but I never heard from him. If no one responds I'm going to try McMaster-Carr for individual O rings. They have a lot of non-standard rings. Enclosing a picture of the unit. You can see the red fluid where it is leaking. Would appreciate any info on the subject. Allen Blackwell
1996 Monterey  34'
CAT 3126

Jeff Johnson

• BAC Member
Re: Steering Box (wheelhouse) leak
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2022, 07:49:03 AM »
  James,
  If you go under technical info and go up in the upper right search box and type in "steering box leak"you can see my dilemma about the fourth week I had just bought my '96 33' Savannah!
   I found out it is a Sheppard M83 that Red hat in Auburn Washington rebuilt for me for $490 sitting on the bench(out of the vehicle). I was charged $850 from International Trucks up by Everett to get it R n R (removed and reinstalled) and test drove too.