Author Topic: Big Boy Issue  (Read 1802 times)

Richard Dangel

• BAC Member
Big Boy Issue
« on: May 04, 2023, 08:37:28 PM »
Hi All,
It's been a while since I posted but I read the Forum regularly.  This post is over another Big Boy issue. 
I have replaced the Big Boy four times in five years.  Forum research shows that someone recommended a marine-type alternative (posted 2012).  Is there anything new on this front?  I don't like forking out $260 almost yearly for a new one.
Please note that I am not an electrical engineer so I need a simple solution or a recommendation for someone who could perform this modification.  My motorhome is a 2009 Beaver Marquis.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.
2009 Marquis
CAT C15

Eric Maclean

• BAC Member
  • Karen and I would like to wish you all happy trail
Re: Big Boy Issue
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2023, 08:51:35 PM »
Richard
Could you tell us what your previous big boys died of ( was it the solenoid winding that failed or the contacts)
The reason I ask his that the big boy is a continuous duty solenoid and as such is intended to be powered for long periods of time with no I'll effects. If the windings are failing I'd check the voltage applied to the big boy windings when it's energized to see if for some reason it is too low or too high damaging them over time.

If on the other hand the contacts are failing this is a more common problem .
The big boy can be dismantled and the contacts can be cleaned to restore proper operation .
There is a post in the coach assist section that covers the cleaning repair of the contacts under common problems.

Hope this helps
Eric
1997 Patriot Yorktown
3126-B
2009 Chevy HHR
Roadmaster falcon tow bar
Demco Air Force one tow brake.

Bryan Beamon

• BAC Member
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2023, 09:19:50 PM »