Author Topic: Headlamps Insufficient  (Read 7370 times)

Ken Sair

• BAC Member
  • Second generation fulltimers!!
Headlamps Insufficient
« on: January 22, 2012, 05:01:21 AM »
I had been complaining to Monaco since delivery of our 2007 Beaver Contessa about the pitiful amount of lighting produced by my headlamps. Enough so that we avoided driving at night because it was unsafe to do so. There answer was, everything is OK. Well, in a casual conversation with Lamar Keck at the balloon fest last October, he relayed that he had a similar problem and it was fixed by Roy Mueller. The fix was installing some 'reducers', I believe is the term. Anyway, I asked Roy to take a look at mine.

Sure enough, I was receiving 8volts to the low beams and 9 volts to the high beams. I may as well have stuck a flashlight out the window when driving at night.

Roy ran a jump wire to a 12 volt source and 'Holy Cow', did I now have some bright headlamps. The difference was incredible. Roy then ran new wires to the headlamps through two reducers (believe that's the term). Turned them on last night after dark. I can barely describe the difference. Another friend here in Quartzite with the identical coach wanted to see my 'new' lights. We looked at his and then mine. Mine were a full 50% brighter.

If you think your headlamps are not putting out enough light, you too may have low voltage at the headlamps.

A huge thank you to Roy Mueller!!!!!

ken Sair 2007 Contessa
« Last Edit: January 22, 2012, 06:38:40 AM by 14 »
BAC members since 2006

LarryNCarolynShirk

Re: Headlamps Insufficient
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2012, 06:39:49 AM »
The term you were trying to recall is "relay"

Larry

Jim Nichols

• BAC Member
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2012, 10:22:29 AM »
Ken your great to work with. Thank for your patience.
Jim/Natasha Nichols
05 Monterey 36'
400 Cat C9

Keith Moffett

• BAC Member
  • Every day is a blessing!
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2012, 12:57:09 PM »