Author Topic: Pac Brake not moving  (Read 22426 times)

Larry and Heidi Lee

Pac Brake not moving
« on: September 22, 2009, 12:00:29 AM »
Hello, I have a 2005 Beaver Monterey 34 with the C9. The exhaust brake doesn't work. I pulled the engine access cover up and had someone toggle the exhaust brake switch with the engine running and the cylinder shaft doesn't move. I realize I have some additional troubleshooting but wanted to see if anyone had a similar problem and what they found. Also I cannot locate the electric air/solenoid...does anyone know where it is buried?  I also have had trouble locating the electrical check points that feed the solenoid ...any help would be greatly appreciated ::)

Gerald Farris

Re: Pac Brake not moving
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2009, 04:37:32 AM »
As I have never owned a cat engine with an exhaust brake, I am no expert, but I do not think that the cylinder should have moved in the circumstance that you described. The controls on the exhaust brake only allow activation with the throttle at idle and the engine RPMs above 1000. I think that the relay that controls the air valve is located in the LF electrical bay. The air valve can be located by tracing the air line from the cylinder back to the valve.

A call to the Bend Service Center may be helpful.

Gerald

Richard And Babs Ames

« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2009, 01:57:38 PM »
Adding to Geralds statement. Transmission has to be in second or higher gear. Checking the operation may be outlined in your owners manual for the Pac Brake or a Test procedure may be available here. http://www.pacbrake.com/index.php?page=motorhome

Larry and Heidi Lee

« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2009, 05:47:51 PM »
Hi Gerald and Richard, does anyone have the Bend phone number handy? Thank-you in advance.

Gerald Farris

« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2009, 06:12:08 PM »
The numbers for Beaver Coach Sales in Bend  are

Sales: 800-382-2597 Local: 541-322-2184
Service: 800-843-2967 Local: 541-317-3669