Author Topic: POSSIBLE FUEL FILTER FOULED?  (Read 5847 times)

LEAH DRAPER

POSSIBLE FUEL FILTER FOULED?
« on: December 21, 2012, 12:48:50 AM »
I have been experiencing some problems when starting  up a slight incline.  I first noticed it in traversing a rainy pass thru Utah mountains.  Since it was raining heavily I thought the perhaps the drive wheels were slipping.  After arriving home, I had the codes checked (at Allison dealer) and there were no codes indicating a problem.  As I left NM for AZ I again experienced the problem.  If on the level, there were NO problem, but the slightest incline would bring back the "slipping feeling" or bucking and the power would drop.

I am NOT a mechanical person being female, but I am also somewhat "more" savey than many women.  

I am beginning to think that I may have "dirty" fuel filters.  Is this a plausible explanation for what I am experiencing?

Gerald, I need your expertise please.

Lloyd Hall

Re: POSSIBLE FUEL FILTER FOULED?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2012, 01:09:33 AM »
I am not as sharp as Gerald on diagnosing these problems, however, I did have the same experence with my coach and it was the fuel filters. I changed them and put in new filters and it solved my problem.

Lloyd Hall

Bill Sprague

« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2012, 01:38:34 AM »
I paid a Cummins shop $600 for trouble shooting a rough runner with laptops and codes.  Oddly, the ATC light would flash when it missed a beat and that was confusing them.  Finally, a "good 'ole boy' blurted out, "Just change the *%X&n filters."  It has run well ever since and the ACT light quit flashing.  For the $600 they found a code saying the fuel pump had not been delivering enough fuel so the engine had to "de-rate".  The pump could pull enough fuel through the filters for the de-rated state, so it would decide to lurch back to "normal".

On the first sign of trouble, change the fuel filters!