Author Topic: Significant Loss of Power  (Read 5335 times)

Bill Jourdain

Significant Loss of Power
« on: February 12, 2013, 02:01:24 AM »
We were traveling back from Florida today and about the time we got to the "hills" in middle Georgia around Macon on I-75, we noticed a loss of power when starting to climb these small inclines.  As we got further north and the hills a little bit more severe, we experienced a number of severe losses of power to the point that the coach slowed to 30 mph a few times.  Fortunately, we were not far from home at that point and made it there.  I've read a number of posts on the forum about this issue, but not being a mechanic, I'm not sure where to start.  I had the coach serviced last October and the fuel filters were replaced. I store the coach with a full tank to avoid condensation and the problems associated with that.  As we drove today, the check engine light did not come on nor did I see and other mesages on the Silver Leaf or any other dash indicators that indicated I had a problem.

I have had the coach serviced at Lee Smith in Chattanooga and have been pleased with them, but am not sure if I should take the 50 mile mostly uphill drive to see them.  There is a Yancey Brothers CAT repair facility about 8 or 9 miles from my house and I could probably make it there without incident.  Before I go any further, I was hoping to tap into the collective wisdom and experience on the forum to get any ideas or advice any of you may have about the root cause of this problem and the approach I should take to fix this problem.

Thanks.

Bill

Steve Huber Co-Admin

• Administrator Group
Re: Significant Loss of Power
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2013, 02:34:50 AM »
Bill,