Author Topic: Shore power and generators  (Read 11007 times)

Sherry Klumpp

Shore power and generators
« on: August 03, 2017, 06:46:10 PM »
Hi All,

I'm new to the RVing world, and I am getting mixed information about things to do and not to do.  I bought a 35 ft 2005 Beaver Monterey.  I only have access to a 15 electrical supply where I'm storing it.  The place where I purchased had it plugged into a 30 amp supply.  The latter place told me to turn on the generator if I wanted to run both A/Cs.  I did with no problems.

A mobile tech told me to disconnect from the 15 amp shore supply before turning on the generator.  Otherwise I would trip a fuse if I didn't disconnect from the shore power.  I did trip a breaker when I left it plugged into the 15 amp shore supply and turned on the generator. 

Who is right?  Is the difference the amperage of the shore power?

I think I have a lot to learn  ;)!!

Thanks!!

Sherry
« Last Edit: August 08, 2017, 10:23:23 AM by Carol Moffett »

David T. Richelderfer

• David, Leslie, Jasper, & JoJo
  • BAC Member
  • OSU, Class of 1971, RVing nearly 50 years
Re: shore power and generators
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2017, 09:24:25 PM »
watts = volts * amps  OR  w=v * a

Your generator is probably 7,500 watts and creates a 120 volt electrical current.  Thus, your generator is putting out
 7,500w / 120v = 62.5 amps.  These numbers apply to the generator:  120 volts; 62.5 amps; 7,500 watts.  In addition, your generator puts out power on two legs (two wires) with each leg (each wire) getting half the total amps produced -  62.5 amps / 2 = 31.25 amps on each leg or wire.

The shore power cord is 15 amps at 120 volts.  Therefore, your shore power is 15a * 120v = 1,800 watts.
These numbers apply to the shore power:  120 volts; 15 amps; 1,800 watts.  The shore power comes all on one leg - 15 amps on one wire.